Complaints require positive action

Complaints can lead to a better understanding.

Complaints can be your best source of information about problems and frustrations

Yes, welcome complaints to achieve a balanced understanding of what is happening in the community. Sure, there will never be enough money or time to adequately address every complaint you receive. But, you can certainly get things moving in the right direction.

Complaining about performance enables people to improve if you can change the conversation from the past to the future. Complainers tend to be stuck in the past, whereas leaders turn toward the future and look into new possibilities.

Take a positive approach to complaints, look at them as good feedback about the problems and frustrations in the community. While there will be many complaints outside your sphere of influence, at least you can pass on people’s concerns.

  • Weather is a perennial in regional areas
  • Self-centred uncaring leaders
  • Old inappropriate infrastructure
  • Lack of capacity to get things done
  • Pace of change
  • Energy prices
  • Politicians responsiveness and inaction
  • Taxes are too high
  • Poor quality coffee and restaurants
  • Too many rules and regulations
  • Customers are always complaining, but about what?
  • Poor rail and air services
  • Technology problems
  • Slow or no broadband connection
  • No mobile phone reception
  • Poor social services
  • Lack of community response
  • Uncaring and unhelpful people
  • Lack of follow through
  • Waste management
  • False advertising
  • Telemarketing calls
  • People telling lies
  • Finding good employees
  • Poor after-sales service
  • Lack of financial services
  • Difficulty in returning items purchased
  • Poor road maintenance
  • Shoddy quality
  • Too few volunteers

 Complaints challenges you need to overcome

Pointing out and doing something about fault finding, mistakes, failures and defect are essential aspects of leadership.

Remember when the customer was always right? Unfortunately, these days customer service is suffering as less qualified people fill jobs out of necessity because of a lack of appropriate education. Politicians seem only interested in their careers and are too bound up in ‘political correctness’ rubbish.

  • Prick the balloon of complaints, allow people to let their ‘hot air’ out
  • Invite positive complaints from people who care
  • Resolve to do something about the allegations
  • Turn complaints into decisive action.
  • Never force people to choose sides.
  • Look to improve personal service and the ‘customer experience’.

A simple process for handling complaints

How you treat a complaint is a critical component of the community developer. The last thing you want is a misguided response.

  1. Listen and understand. Take the time to listen and truly understand what is driving the person’s concern. Be appreciative of any aspect of the community which requires attention. Avoid the temptation to respond instantly without proper consideration.
  2. Once you have listened to a concern immediately empathise with their position to create a better relationship. Be sure people know you have heard their matter and are going to work with them to find a solution.
  3. Offer a solution. But, only after appropriate consideration before you offer a solution to the issue. In this regard, always focus on what you can do as opposed to what you cannot. There is still a solution. It may not be precisely what the person is asking for, but if you focus on what you can do you will go a long way towards an answer to their situation.
  4. Execute the solution. Solve the problem be it with the initially requested resolution or an alternative you have proposed. Never put a genuine complaint on the ‘back burner’ and hope it will go away.
  5. Follow-up. Always make sure you follow-up directly with the complainer to make sure they are satisfied with the solution and to be sure you have taken care of their concerns. If necessary readdress the problem, they have.

Just as there will always be problems and frustrations in our community’s, there will still be satisfactory ways to resolve the issues and help people to move on with the many possibilities for the future.

Quotable Quotes

“It is better to light one small candle than to curse the darkness”. Confucius

“I felt sorry for myself because I had no shoes until I met a man who had no feet”. Jewish Proverb

16 Comments

  1. cheap jordans on December 17, 2018 at 6:29 am

    I needed to write you this very small word in order to thank you very much again for these exceptional tactics you have shared in this article. This has been so remarkably generous of people like you in giving unreservedly all most people would have made available for an electronic book to end up making some bucks for their own end, mostly considering that you might have tried it in case you desired. Those guidelines likewise acted as a good way to realize that other individuals have the identical dream like my own to figure out a whole lot more with regard to this condition. I think there are some more pleasant situations in the future for folks who go through your blog.

  2. hermes belt on December 18, 2018 at 7:23 am

    I simply desired to thank you so much once again. I am not sure the things I would have made to happen in the absence of the tricks revealed by you directly on this problem. It seemed to be the frustrating crisis for me, but understanding a new professional technique you handled that took me to cry with fulfillment. I will be happy for the help as well as expect you realize what a powerful job that you’re providing teaching most people by way of your web site. I am certain you’ve never encountered all of us.

  3. kyrie shoes on December 19, 2018 at 8:54 am

    I together with my guys appeared to be viewing the nice tips and hints from your web page while all of a sudden I had a horrible suspicion I had not thanked the web blog owner for those strategies. Those women appeared to be glad to study them and have in actuality been enjoying these things. Appreciation for turning out to be quite accommodating and also for going for this sort of good subjects millions of individuals are really needing to learn about. Our sincere apologies for not expressing appreciation to you sooner.

  4. adidas outlet online on December 20, 2018 at 1:18 pm

    I needed to put you one very small observation to say thank you once again considering the precious guidelines you’ve discussed in this case. This is so tremendously open-handed of people like you to allow freely exactly what a few people would’ve supplied for an electronic book to make some cash for themselves, notably seeing that you might well have done it in the event you considered necessary. These tactics additionally served to be the good way to realize that other individuals have the same fervor just like mine to find out great deal more related to this issue. I think there are many more enjoyable situations in the future for individuals that read your blog.

  5. birkin bag on December 21, 2018 at 6:59 pm

    A lot of thanks for your own efforts on this blog. Debby delights in setting aside time for internet research and it’s simple to grasp why. Most people learn all regarding the powerful form you create helpful tactics via this web site and boost response from other individuals on the theme and our favorite princess is undoubtedly understanding a great deal. Have fun with the remaining portion of the new year. You’re the one carrying out a really great job.

  6. off white shoes on December 23, 2018 at 3:17 am

    I precisely wished to say thanks all over again. I am not sure the things I would have followed without the actual tricks documented by you relating to such a area of interest. Certainly was the terrifying setting in my circumstances, however , taking note of a new expert fashion you solved it took me to cry for happiness. I’m just happy for your help and then wish you realize what a great job you were putting in teaching many others via your blog. Most likely you’ve never got to know all of us.

  7. kevin durant shoes on December 25, 2018 at 6:56 am

    I actually wanted to write a small word to express gratitude to you for those fantastic suggestions you are showing on this website. My extensive internet search has finally been compensated with high-quality facts to talk about with my pals. I ‘d assume that we visitors actually are definitely endowed to be in a remarkable network with so many brilliant individuals with very beneficial things. I feel truly happy to have used your entire weblog and look forward to some more fun times reading here. Thanks a lot once again for a lot of things.

  8. foamposites on December 26, 2018 at 5:34 am

    I intended to compose you a tiny observation to say thanks a lot the moment again about the marvelous suggestions you have shown here. It has been so strangely open-handed with you to deliver publicly precisely what some people could possibly have marketed for an e-book to generate some cash for their own end, specifically given that you might have tried it in the event you considered necessary. These smart ideas likewise acted to become easy way to be sure that other individuals have a similar fervor the same as my very own to realize a good deal more related to this condition. I am sure there are thousands of more pleasurable periods in the future for many who see your website.

  9. kobe 9 on December 27, 2018 at 4:40 am

    Thank you so much for giving everyone an exceptionally wonderful possiblity to check tips from this site. It is always very good and also full of fun for me and my office peers to visit the blog at minimum thrice every week to find out the fresh items you will have. And lastly, I’m usually amazed considering the perfect secrets served by you. Some 3 tips on this page are unequivocally the very best we’ve had.

  10. birkin bag on December 28, 2018 at 4:30 am

    I would like to convey my passion for your kind-heartedness supporting people who really want help on this content. Your personal commitment to getting the solution all-around appeared to be surprisingly good and have surely empowered girls much like me to reach their objectives. Your own useful guidelines signifies a whole lot to me and substantially more to my office colleagues. Thanks a lot; from each one of us.

  11. adidas nmd on December 29, 2018 at 9:58 am

    Thanks for all of the work on this web site. Kate really likes working on research and it is obvious why. Many of us hear all concerning the dynamic medium you make powerful techniques on this web site and in addition cause response from others about this topic while our favorite princess is truly discovering a lot. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the year. You are always conducting a terrific job.

  12. yeezy boost 350 v2 on December 29, 2018 at 12:07 pm

    I want to point out my gratitude for your kind-heartedness giving support to people who need assistance with in this concept. Your personal dedication to getting the message around was particularly useful and has always helped guys and women like me to get to their goals. The interesting useful information signifies a lot to me and somewhat more to my colleagues. Warm regards; from all of us.

  13. michael kors outlet on December 30, 2018 at 10:16 am

    Thank you a lot for giving everyone an extraordinarily splendid opportunity to read articles and blog posts from here. It’s always so excellent and stuffed with a lot of fun for me personally and my office co-workers to visit your site at the very least 3 times in one week to study the latest items you have. And lastly, I am also at all times contented with your stunning tips you serve. Some 1 ideas on this page are really the most impressive we have had.

  14. bape hoodie on December 31, 2018 at 7:13 am

    I precisely had to thank you so much yet again. I am not sure the things that I might have implemented in the absence of the entire thoughts shared by you on such a area. It previously was a very alarming scenario for me personally, but seeing the very expert avenue you dealt with that forced me to cry with joy. Now i’m grateful for the service and in addition trust you know what a great job you were putting in instructing people thru a site. More than likely you’ve never come across all of us.

  15. nike huarache on January 1, 2019 at 6:30 am

    I would like to show my admiration for your generosity for people that really want help on the matter. Your very own commitment to passing the solution all around had become amazingly important and has continually enabled those much like me to attain their pursuits. Your personal valuable advice denotes a whole lot to me and even further to my mates. With thanks; from all of us.

  16. ysl handbags on January 2, 2019 at 5:22 am

    I must convey my gratitude for your kind-heartedness in support of men who require assistance with in this topic. Your very own commitment to passing the solution along had become unbelievably useful and have consistently helped guys just like me to get to their ambitions. The informative key points signifies a great deal a person like me and extremely more to my mates. Regards; from each one of us.

Leave a Comment